MRC Annual Consultative Meeting 2023 – Initial Information

MRC Annual Consultative Meeting 2023 – Initial Information

The MRC Annual Consultative Meeting will take place online on Wednesday 28 June 2023, starting at 7.30pm.  This will include the elections for the 2023/24 committee.

Joining details for the meeting will be available on the MRC website nearer the time, as will a full set of papers.  Each BC affiliated club which has participated, or has an interest, in marathon racing is entitled to a vote, and that club’s voting member will need to be registered in advance.

In addition to the annual election of the Chair this year there will be an election for seven committee members.  

The following are due for re-election and have expressed an intention to stand again to stand again:

  • Stan Missen (Chair) – elected annually
  • Graham Warland
  • David Enoch
  • Evan Shephard
  • Holly Mobbs

Standing down mid-term or/not seeking re-election:

  • Dyson Pendle
  • Kat Wilson
  • Siobhan Urquhart

Anyone wishing to stand for a place on the MRC must inform the Secretary of their candidacy by 18 May 2023.  They must be a full member of British Canoeing and be proposed and seconded by two other full individual members of British Canoeing.  

Standing as an elected member of the MRC is a great way to make a difference to our sport and be involved directly in how it is run. Committee members are expected to attend around four meetings per year (there is usually an online option), and to play an active role in the administration of the discipline in between meetings.  Roles covered by those named above include:  Treasurer, Committee secretary, rules, short course, communications, junior development, secretary to Selection Committee, major events, safeguarding and race management.  If you are interested in standing and becoming involved in any of the above, please feel free to contact the Chair (Stan Missen) or Secretary (Siobhan Urquhart) by 18 May, supported by two full members of British Canoeing. 

Anyone wishing an item to be raised at the ACM needs to be a full member of British Canoeing and have submitted it to the secretary by 18 May 2023 supported by two additional full members of British Canoeing.

Other items may be discussed at the meeting at the Chairman’s discretion.

Email addresses:
Stan Missen – Chair –
Siobhan Urquhart – Acting Secretary –